CONFERENCE

AGENDA

AGENDA SPONSORED BY

Lewis Kappes.png
ReadyCapital.png

This year’s Annual Conference will cover all the hot-button topics surrounding the 7(a) program and Paycheck Protection Program. Over three days, you’ll have virtual access to over a dozen live breakout sessions led by industry professionals and invited SBA guests, as well as recorded and prerecorded material to view on demand. 

 

You’ll hear from political and economic experts who will provide insight into the political climate as we head into the 2020 election, and how that plays into an economic recovery. Plus, NAGGL’s government relations team will break down the pressing issues facing the 7(a) program in Washington.

 

You’ll connect with exhibitors and industry partners through our easy-to-use virtual platform, mingle with peers from across the country during live networking events, and enter to win some fantastic prizes.

 

You won't want to miss this year's incredible line up!

VIEW BY DAY

TUESDAY, OCTOBER 27

 

MORNING OFFICE STRETCH

9:00-9:25 ET | 8:00-8:25 CT | 7:00-7:25 MT | 6:00-6:25 PT

Before a day of sitting in front of the computer, this low-impact morning stretch will leave you feeling energized and ready to learn! No gym wear needed -- our certified trainer will walk through stretching techniques that you can do from convenience of your desk.

OPENING GENERAL SESSION

10:00-10:45 ET | 9:00-9:45 CDT | 8:00-8:45 MT | 7:00-7:45 PT

We'll kick off this year's Annual Conference with a special keynote address from SBA Administrator Jovita Carranza, who will be joined by William Manger, Chief of Staff and Associate Administrator for the Office of Capital Access, for the latest updates on the 7(a) and Paycheck Protection Programs. 

BREAKOUT SESSIONS

11:00-12:30 ET | 10:00-11:30 CT | 9:00-10:30 MT | 8:00-9:30 PT

Current Topics in the Office of Financial Assistance

Dianna Seaborn, Director, Rosemarie Drake, Chief, 7(a) Branch, and Ginger Allen, Policy/Financial Analyst, discuss what’s new and what’s coming related to all aspects of 7(a) loan origination, including important changes in version 6 of SOP 50 10. 

Credit Underwriting After an Economic Shutdown

Complicated economic times due to the pandemic call for a new approach to credit underwriting. Learn what SBA requires when making new loans in these difficult times and share best practices to shift your credit memo process as we find our way in this uncertain economy. 

Understanding Debt Refinance in Unique Times

With the conventional credit box getting squeezed due to an abrupt shutdown of the economy, existing loans that need to be refinanced or renewed may have credit issues.  We'll discuss SBA's debt refinance requirements from eligibility issues like credit elsewhere, to application issues like what needs to be in a lender’s file, as well as real-life debt refi scenarios.  

BREAKOUT SESSIONS

1:00-2:30 ET | 12:00-1:30 CT | 11:00-12:30 MT | 10:00-11:30 PT

Paycheck Protection Program Updates

Bill Briggs, Deputy Associate Administrator, Office of Capital Access, shares up-to-the-minute information about the PPP loan program and invites your input on ways to improve communication between the administration and PPP lenders.   

Updates from the Office of Financial Program Operations (OFPO)

Jihoon Kim, Director, and Marty Andrews, Deputy Director, provide the latest information on SBA’s center operations and servicing and liquidation policies, including changes coming in SOP 50 57 3.

Servicing, Deferments and Workouts

Given the current state of the economy, with 1112 payments ending, and uncertainty about whether Congress will provide additional payment relief, lenders are facing new loan servicing challenges.  We'll highlight common servicing scenarios and hear from you on the best practices for managing these requests.

SPEAKER SERIES: Michael Steele  |  Sponsored by Zions Bank

3:00-3:45 ET | 2:00-2:45 CT | 1:00-1:45 MT | 12:00-12:45 PT

When he was elected Lt. Governor of Maryland in 2003, Michael Steele made history as the first African American elected to statewide office; and again with his subsequent chairmanship of the Republican National Committee in 2009. Tune in to hear his insightful provide commentary on the 2020 Election and the implications it may have on small businesses across the country. 

BREAKOUT SESSIONS

4:00-5:30 ET | 3:00-4:30 CT | 2:00-3:30 MT | 1:00-2:30 PT

Paycheck Protection Program Updates

Bill Briggs, Deputy Associate Administrator, Office of Capital Access, shares up-to-the-minute information about the PPP loan program and invites your input on ways to improve communication between the administration and PPP lenders.   

Understanding Debt Refinance in Unique Times

With the conventional credit box getting squeezed due to an abrupt shutdown of the economy, existing loans that need to be refinanced or renewed may have credit issues.  We'll discuss SBA's debt refinance requirements from eligibility issues like credit elsewhere, to application issues like what needs to be in a lender’s file, as well as real-life debt refi scenarios.  

Reaching Underserved Markets During These Difficult Times

An interactive discussion of best practices and innovative ideas to reach eligible, creditworthy entrepreneurs in underserved areas and markets who may be experiencing increased challenges accessing credit in these difficult times, and discuss how partnering with local resources to educate the not quite credit-ready borrower equals a win for your community and institution. 

Virtual Happy Hour & Exhibitor Talent Show   |  Sponsored by SPARK

6:00-7:00 ET | 5:00-6:00 CT | 4:00-5:00 MT | 3:00-4:00 PT

It’s time to grab your favorite beverage to sip and join this fun event featuring some brave exhibitors showing off their stellar talents.  You’ll judge the winner, and we’ll also be giving away over $1500 in prizes! Have we sparked your interest?  Come share some down time and laughs after a day jam-packed with educational sessions.

 

WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 28

MORNING OFFICE STRETCH

9:00-9:25 ET | 8:00-8:25 CT | 7:00-7:25 MT | 6:00-6:25 PT

Before a day of sitting in front of the computer, this low-impact morning stretch will leave you feeling energized and ready to learn! No gym wear needed -- our certified trainer will walk through stretching techniques that you can do from convenience of your desk.

OPENING GENERAL SESSION: DAY 2

10:00-10:45 ET | 9:00-9:45 CDT | 8:00-8:45 MT | 7:00-7:45 PT

Day two kicks off with a keynote address from U.S. Senator, Chris Coons (D-DE) who championed Section 1112 in the CARES Act. We'll also hear from SBA's Inspector General, Hannibal "Mike" Ware, who will provide information on oversight of SBA’s pandemic response and the latest findings about SBA’s implementation of Paycheck Protection Program. 

BREAKOUT SESSIONS

11:00-12:30 ET | 10:00-11:30 CT | 9:00-10:30 MT | 8:00-9:30 PT

PPP Responsibilities Post-Forgiveness

Not every PPP borrower will apply for loan forgiveness and not every PPP loan will be fully forgiven.  So what happens next with the PPP loans that will remain on your balance sheet?  Learn what you need to know about servicing, liquidating and requesting SBA’s purchase of PPP loans and share your unresolved issues so that NAGGL can provide valuable feedback to SBA on what additional guidance is needed.  

Updates from the Office of Credit Risk Management (OCRM) 

Susan Streich, Director, and Eddie Ledford, Deputy Director, discuss current activities in OCRM and share important information for lenders striving to be meet and exceed SBA’s lender participation expectations. 

Trends in the 7(a) Secondary Market

Get a year-end review of and updates on the 7(a) Secondary Market directly from SBA’s Chief of the Secondary Market, and then hear additional important perspectives from NAGGL’s Secondary Market Committee representatives on trends in the market, including an analysis of current investor demand, premiums now and in the future, the impact of loan deferments on selling loans, effectively structuring 7(a) loans for sale, and understanding the change in the minimum maturity ratio for pools—and more!         

GOVERNMENT RELATIONS UPDATE

1:00-2:30 ET | 12:00-1:30 CT | 11:00-12:30 MT | 10:00-11:30 PT

Tune in for a dependable interpretation of current events happening on The Hill from NAGGL's Government Relations team. They'll summarize the association’s very active government relations efforts, including the latest information on legislation related to the CARES Act, PPP and Section 1112 extensions; an update on the current Continuing Resolution and FY21 budget; and potential outcomes of the national election and what they might mean for the 7(a) program.

BREAKOUT SESSIONS

3:00-4:30 ET | 2:00-3:30 CT | 1:00-2:30 MT | 12:00-1:30 PT

Portfolio Monitoring: Requirements and Tips

Lenders must continuously monitor each 7(a) loan, but current economic uncertainties and the fact that most loans have had deferments and Section 1112 payment relief makes that task harder.  Get a refresher on SBA’s monitoring requirements and share creative ways to keep tabs on borrowers in a world where you can’t rely on your delinquency report to tell you how they are faring.  

Updates from the Office of Credit Risk Management (OCRM) 

Susan Streich, Director, and Eddie Ledford, Deputy Director, discuss current activities in OCRM and share important information for lenders striving to be meet and exceed SBA’s lender participation expectations. 

Servicing, Deferments and Workouts

Given the current state of the economy, with 1112 payments ending, and uncertainty about whether Congress will provide additional payment relief, lenders are facing new loan servicing challenges.  We'll highlight common servicing scenarios and hear from you on the best practices for managing these requests.

Wholesale 504 Market *PRE-RECORDED SESSION*

Throughout the pandemic, the SBA 504 program has seen increased volume and importance in providing long-term fixed rates to borrowers purchasing real estate, making the wholesale 504 market more important now than ever before. Learn how to help SBA borrowers obtain financing by partnering with a wholesale 504 lender, and what a loan request must “look like” in 2020 to be successfully placed.  The benefits of working with a wholesale 504 lender are significant; whether you are competing against a large bank and need access to lower interest rates that are fixed for a longer period, or your borrower is buying a property outside of your footprint or requesting a larger loan amount, or you are trying to boost fee income … or all of the above, this session will help give you a greater understanding of how to work with the wholesale market.  

A CONVERSATION WITH THE HILL

5:00-5:45 ET | 4:00-4:45CT | 3:00-3:45 MT | 2:00-2:45 PT

Changes in D.C. are happening faster than ever as we navigate through the COVID-19 pandemic and 2020 election season. Congressional staff will provide insights into legislative proposals under consideration, and what we can expect as we move past the election and into 2021. 

AFTER HOURS LENDER CHAT   |  Sponsored by Newtek

6:00-7:00 ET | 5:00-6:00 CT | 4:00-5:00 MT | 3:00-4:00 PT

 

Join us for a relaxing after-hours chat lender to lender. This is a chance to discuss topics that are on your mind: what is OCRM is looking for during their reviews, how to organize loan files, tips on shifting staff between loan origination and loan servicing needs, what to do with agent fees, staying current with SOP updates and policy notices, improving department efficiency, and any other topics that come up.  Plus, we'll be giving away over $1,500 in prizes! 

THURSDAY, OCTOBER 29

 

MORNING OFFICE STRETCH

9:00-9:25 ET | 8:00-8:25 CT | 7:00-7:25 MT | 6:00-6:25 PT

Before a day of sitting in front of the computer, this low-impact morning stretch will leave you feeling energized and ready to learn! No gym wear needed -- our certified trainer will walk through stretching techniques that you can do from convenience of your desk.

PPP CHANGES OF OWNERSHIP

10:00-10:45 ET | 9:00-9:45 CDT | 8:00-8:45 MT | 7:00-7:45 PT

Many PPP borrowers are deciding to change their ownership structures so lenders need to know SBA’s requirements for processing these actions in order to protect the government/lender interests in the PPP loan.  This session will review the requirements in the recently published notice and discuss how various types of transactions should be handled.

BREAKOUT SESSIONS

11:00-12:30 ET | 10:00-11:30 CT | 9:00-10:30 MT | 8:00-9:30 PT

Current Topics in the Office of Financial Assistance

Dianna Seaborn, Director, Rosemarie Drake, Chief, 7(a) Branch, and Ginger Allen, Policy/Financial Analyst, discuss what’s new and what’s coming related to all aspects of 7(a) loan origination, including important changes in version 6 of SOP 50 10.    

Updates from the Office of International Trade (OIT) 

The SOP 50 10 6 broadened the borrower qualifications for the International Trade Loan Program. Export Finance Managers, Alale Allal and Jeffery Deiss, discuss these recent changes and other updates from OIT, and provide examples of recent loans that have qualified for the program. 

Updates from the Office of Financial Program Operations (OFPO)

Jihoon Kim, Director, and Marty Andrews, Deputy Director, provide the latest information on SBA’s center operations and servicing and liquidation policies, including changes coming in SOP 50 57 3.        

BREAKOUT SESSIONS

1:00-2:30 ET | 12:00-1:30 CT | 11:00-12:30 MT | 10:00-11:30 PT

PPP Responsibilities Post-Forgiveness

Not every PPP borrower will apply for loan forgiveness and not every PPP loan will be fully forgiven.  So what happens next with the PPP loans that will remain on your balance sheet?  Learn what you need to know about servicing, liquidating and requesting SBA’s purchase of PPP loans and share your unresolved issues so that NAGGL can provide valuable feedback to SBA on what additional guidance is needed.   

Portfolio Monitoring: Requirements and Tips

Lenders must continuously monitor each 7(a) loan, but current economic uncertainties and the fact that most loans have had deferments and Section 1112 payment relief makes that task harder.  Get a refresher on SBA’s monitoring requirements and share creative ways to keep tabs on borrowers in a world where you can’t rely on your delinquency report to tell you how they are faring.

Credit Underwriting After an Economic Shutdown

Complicated economic times due to the pandemic call for a new approach to credit underwriting. Learn what SBA requires when making new loans in these difficult times and share best practices to shift your credit memo process as we find our way in this uncertain economy. 

CONFERENCE WRAP-UP

3:00-4:30 ET | 2:00-3:30 CT | 1:00-2:30 MT | 12:00-1:30 PT

Three days filled to the brim with new policy details may leave us on overload. The closing session gives us the opportunity to share feedback with SBA on all the information provided during the conference, and continue the dialog on the critical policy issues that are important to lenders. 

AVAILABLE ON-DEMAND

2020 AWARDS CEREMONY

PRE-RECORDED

We love this annual ritual! Join us in honoring our members whose accomplishments in continuing education,  and service to the association. We’ll also introduce attendees to the new members of the Board of Directors. 

WHOLESALE 504 MARKET

PRE-RECORDED

Throughout the pandemic, the SBA 504 program has seen increased volume and importance in providing long-term fixed rates to borrowers purchasing real estate, making the wholesale 504 market more important now than ever before. Learn how to help SBA borrowers obtain financing by partnering with a wholesale 504 lender, and what a loan request must “look like” in 2020 to be successfully placed.  The benefits of working with a wholesale 504 lender are significant; whether you are competing against a large bank and need access to lower interest rates that are fixed for a longer period, or your borrower is buying a property outside of your footprint or requesting a larger loan amount, or you are trying to boost fee income … or all of the above, this session will help give you a greater understanding of how to work with the wholesale market.  

Contact us

Having technical problems or questions? Our team is here to help!

Email conference@naggl.org

Sponsored By:

VENTURES.png

©2020 by NAGGL.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon